Sunday, December 28, 2014

There will be lies by Nick Lake

Posted by Angel kk at Sunday, December 28, 2014 0 comments

Syposis

In four hours, Shelby Jane Cooper will be struck by a car.

Shortly after, she and her mother will leave the hospital and set out on a winding journey toward the Grand Canyon.

All Shelby knows is that they’re running from dangers only her mother understands. And the further they travel, the more Shelby questions everything about her past—and her current reality. Forced to take advantage of the kindness of unsuspecting travelers, Shelby grapples with what’s real, what isn’t, and who she can trust . . . if anybody.

Award-winning author Nick Lake proves his skills as a master storyteller in this heart-pounding new novel. This emotionally charged thrill ride leads to a shocking ending that will have readers flipping back to the beginning.

ISBN:9781408856000
Imprint:Bloomsbury

Review

I was lucky enough to be given a ARC of there will be lies.  After reading the blurb I wasn't 100% sure on whether this would be something that I would get into and as I started to read the installation couple of chapters I wasnt quite get into it. Then as I read a particular sentence everything seem to fall into place and I found my self being pulled into the story.

There Will Be Lies contains a mixes of some pretty shocking and serious subject matter with magical realism to make a truly unique book. With characters that are so three dimensional, mysterious and intriguing. 

Given the nature of the story line, I feel like things were written in a way that you are able to understand and be part of  the story . There is honest so much about this book that I wish I could tell you about but the only way to do that is to throw in loads of spoilers.

It's one of those books that you will be blown away by but find it difficult to  tell people about without giving the story away.

Nick Lake has created a powerful novel in There Will Be Lies,  it packs one hell of a punch and it makes for some very interesting reading. With  the fact that things aren't all that they seem.

I loved the way Lake wrote this book. It feels like Shelby is talking to you directly. Shelby is a strong female heroine with a element that I have not seen in any YA fiction to date,  but it is something that I would like to see more of . I also loved seeing how She dealt with everything that came her way and how the world around her reacted to her.

I absolutely enjoyed the magical folk lore  elements of the story. Coyote,  Elk and Crone.

This is a must read  for 2015. Order your copy today.

Thursday, December 25, 2014

Merry Christmas

Posted by Angel kk at Thursday, December 25, 2014 0 comments

Sunday, December 21, 2014

Favourite books of 2014

Posted by Angel kk at Sunday, December 21, 2014 0 comments

As we prepare to say good bye to 2014 and hello to 2015. The time has come to look back at my favorite books for 2014.

As I looked back over the books I have read this year I found it hard to decide what books should be on my favorites list. This year saw the end of 2 of my favorite series but it also saw the beginning of a few amazing new series. 

So after lots of thought & consideration I have come up with my top 13 for 2014.

13) Half Bad by Sally Green

12) Redeemed by PC &Kristin Cast

11) Illusions of Fate by Kiersten White

10) Cursed by Jennifer L Armentrout

9) Waterfall by Lauren Kate

8) Autumn Rose by Abigail Gibbs

7) Impulse by Vanessa Garden

6 ) Allegiance by Wanda Wiltshire

5) Unbroken by Paula Morris

4) Ghost House by Alexandra Adornetto

3) Captive by Vanessa Garden

2) Betrothed by Wanda Wiltshire
 

Drum roll please........................

My favorite book for 2014 is

1) The Book of Life by Deborah Harkness

Did your favourite make the list?

Thank you to all the amazing authors who made our year better with your amazing story's.

Tuesday, December 16, 2014

Illusions of Fate by Kiersten White

Posted by Angel kk at Tuesday, December 16, 2014 0 comments

Synopsis

“I did my best to keep you from crossing paths with this world. And I shall do my best to protect you now that you have.”

Jessamin has been an outcast since she moved from her island home of Melei to the dreary country of Albion. Everything changes when she meets Finn, a gorgeous, enigmatic young lord who introduces her to the secret world of Albion’s nobility, a world that has everything Jessamin doesn’t—power, money, status…and magic. But Finn has secrets of his own, dangerous secrets that the vicious Lord Downpike will do anything to possess. Unless Jessamin, armed only with her wits and her determination, can stop him.

Kiersten White captured readers’ hearts with her New York Times bestselling Paranormalcy trilogy and its effortless mix of magic and real-world teenage humor. She returns to that winning combination of wit, charm, and enchantment in Illusions of Fate, a sparkling and romantic new novel perfect for fans of Cassandra Clare, The Madman’s Daughter, and Libba Bray. 

Review

Firstly i am a fan of Kiersten Whites work. So when i was excited to read this and I got hooked on Jessamin and Finn almost right away. And how beautiful is this cover!

I really liked Jessamin, she is a strong and confident character who knows  what she wants in life.  Finn is your typical tall dark stranger, with a hint of mystery and protective nature.  Then there is, Eleanor – who was a total scene stealer! I found Lord Downpike to be a good villain, though I want to know more of his  backstory at the start but once we get towards the end more details are shared. With surprising results.

The syory line was great though, the explanations of magic and the tensions between the countries was not always really clear to me. And while I did really like Jessamin, there were times she really fell into the YA heroine cliché – not at all powerful like those around her. Despite that, she was a likable character that I loved reading about.

Another thing that Illusions of Fate has going for it is that it’s a standalone! While the market is inundated with series . (which i love) it is nice to have a chance to read a stand alone. 

Overall, I really enjoyed Illusions of Fate. It had great characters and a beautiful  cover . This is definitely a book to put on to your to read list.

Tuesday, December 9, 2014

Christmas gift

Posted by Angel kk at Tuesday, December 09, 2014 0 comments

Christmas is nearly upon us once again!

And with all the excitement of Christmas there’s one question which is bound to cross your lips… “What do I buy so-and-so for Christmas?”

Looking for the perfect gift for the book lover in your life. Then why not check out our http://www.spinelessclassics.com.au/
These are amazing books turned into posters

Wednesday, December 3, 2014

Ash by Malinda Lo

Posted by Angel kk at Wednesday, December 03, 2014 0 comments

Synopsis

Cinderella retold

In the wake of her father's death, Ash is left at the mercy of her cruel stepmother. Consumed with grief, her only joy comes by the light of the dying hearth fire, rereading the fairy tales her mother once told her. In her dreams, someday the fairies will steal her away, as they are said to do. When she meets the dark and dangerous fairy Sidhean, she believes that her wish may be granted.

The day that Ash meets Kaisa, the King's Huntress, her heart begins to change. Instead of chasing fairies, Ash learns to hunt with Kaisa. Though their friendship is as delicate as a new bloom, it reawakens Ash's capacity for love-and her desire to live. But Sidhean has already claimed Ash for his own, and she must make a choice between fairy tale dreams and true love.

Entrancing, empowering, and romantic, Ash is about the connection between life and love, and solitude and death, where transformation can come from even the deepest grief.

 

Review

If you know the story of Cinderella then you know how this story will begin, but somewhere near the middle it starts to introduce new elements and veer off on its own path. Ash has a fairy guardian named Sidhean.

In order to feel some sort of freedom from her stepmother and stepsisters, Ash takes every opportunity she has to escape into the Woods. Where old world magic still exists. This is were she meets with Sidhean and they form a sort of friendship, but since Ash spends so much time out in the Wood she also happens upon the King's Huntress, Kaisa, a few times as well. Ash and Kaisa also develop a friendship and Ash becomes torn between two worlds. Both  seem forbidden to her.

It is a interesting retelling of an old tale.  I've read stories with strong females before so I guess having a Huntress instead of a Hunter wasn't unexpected.

I mostly enjoyed this novel and I'd probably read something else by her in the future.

Ash isn't just choosing between two particular suitors. Her attraction to the fairy lord, Sidhean, is based largely on the oblivion he can give her. In her grief for her mother, Ash thinks this is what she wants. Kaisa, the King's Huntress who becomes her other love interest, represents life in all its vivid joys and pains.  

Then there's a part of me that wonders why the Cinderella base is needed. Perhaps  if Ash were choosing between the Huntress and the prince, or if Sidhean himself were the prince. As it is, the prince/ball/midnight stuff feels a little tacked on.  

Ash is a  interesting twist on a classic story

 

Paranormal Angel Blog Copyright © 2012 Design by Antonia Sundrani Vinte e poucos